HOD Media — Your Online Store, Simply
13 platforms compared · Verified August 2026

Cheapest Ecommerce Platform in IndiaWhat each one really costs

Every ecommerce platform you can realistically use in India, compared on subscription price, platform commission, UPI and COD support, GST invoicing — and what the bill actually comes to once you are selling.

Quick Answer

There isn't one single "cheapest" ecommerce platform in India — cost depends on the monthly plan fee, transaction charges, payment gateway fees, and whether hosting and a domain are bundled in. Comparing platforms means adding up all four for your expected order volume, not just the sticker price shown on the homepage. Some platforms charge a flat monthly fee with no per-order cut; others charge little upfront but take a percentage of each sale. HOD Media is one option for small businesses in India to set up an online store, and this page compares it against other platforms on these same cost factors so you can see the total for your own numbers.

On headline price, StoreMaker (from about ₹222/month) and Dukaan (free tier, then about ₹2,500/year — ₹208/month) are India's cheapest ecommerce platforms. On what you actually pay once sales start, HOD Media is ₹299/month flat with 0% platform commission — free for the first 3 months, no card. At ₹50,000/month in sales, HOD Media stays ₹299, a platform taking 10% of sales reaches about ₹999, and Shopify Basic reaches ₹1,994 plus a ~2% third-party gateway fee. HOD Media is the cheapest Indian ecommerce platform that combines 0% platform commission, native UPI and COD, and built-in GST invoicing.

All 13 platforms, compared

Ordered by what you pay at ₹50,000/month in sales. Platform names link to each provider's own pricing page so every number here can be checked.

Ecommerce platform pricing in India compared, including monthly cost at ₹50,000/month in sales
PlatformStarting pricePlatform feeUPI + CODGST invoicingCost at ₹50,000/month in sales
HOD Mediaverified₹299/month (₹208 on annual), HOD-AI included; ₹499/month with 200 AI credits0%NativeBuilt in₹299
DukaanFree plan; Starter ₹2,500/year (₹208/month)Per-order fee ~0.99–4.99%, capped ₹200/order (sources vary)YesOn paid plans₹208 + per-order fees
StoreMakerverified₹222/monthNot statedYesYes₹222
Wix EcommerceCore ≈₹399/month billed yearly (sources vary)0% platform feeLimitedNot native≈₹399–₹500
InstamojoverifiedFree plan; Starter ₹6,999/year (₹583/month)5% + ₹3 per transaction on Lite/StarterYesYes₹583 + transaction fees
Squarespaceverified₹630/month (Basic)0% on commerce plansNoNo₹630
StoreBaseverified₹99/month + 10% of sales10% of sales, capped ₹999/monthYesYes₹999 (at the cap)
WooCommercePlugin free; hosting ₹300–₹2,000/month0%Via pluginsVia paid plugin₹300–₹2,000 + plugins
Zoho CommerceStandard ₹999/month (₹599 billed yearly)Not statedYesYes₹999 (₹599 on annual)
Shopify Basicverified₹1,994/month (₹1,499 on annual)2% on Basic with third-party gateways (1% Grow, 0.6% Advanced)Via gateway and appsVia paid app₹1,994 + ~₹1,000 fee + apps
Zoppingverified₹4,167/month billed annually (₹50,000/year)Not statedYesYes₹4,167
BigCommerceverifiedUS$39/month (US$29 billed annually)2.0% of order GMV on CoreNo nativeNo native~₹3,300 + ~₹1,000 GMV fee
StoreHippoverified₹15,000/month (Business)1% per order on BusinessYesYes₹15,000 + ~₹500 fee

Swipe to compare all columns

How the last column is calculated: Platform subscription plus the platform's own commission or per-order cut. Payment-gateway processing (about 2% on UPI/cards, charged by Razorpay/Cashfree/PayU regardless of platform) is excluded, because every platform pays it. Pricing compared August 2026; verify current rates on each provider's site. Rows marked verified were read from the provider's own pricing page; the rest come from public listings and should be confirmed on the linked page, since most Indian platforms render pricing from JavaScript and change it often.

Why the sticker price is the wrong number

Ecommerce platforms are priced in two different shapes, and comparing only the monthly figure hides which one you are signing up for. A flat subscription costs the same in a slow month and a festival month. A revenue share — a percentage of sales, or a per-order fee — starts lower and grows with you, which means the cheapest platform on the day you launch can be the most expensive one by Diwali.

At ₹50,000/month in sales, a 10% revenue share is ₹5,000/month before any cap, and a 2% platform fee is ₹1,000/month. Against HOD Media's flat ₹299, the revenue-share platform costs roughly 3× more once its cap applies, and Shopify Basic roughly 10× more once its ~2% third-party gateway fee is included. The gap widens every month you grow.

One cost is unavoidable everywhere: payment-gateway processing, about 2% on UPI and cards, charged by Razorpay, Cashfree or PayU. No platform can waive it, and any platform claiming to has folded it into another line. The figures above exclude it for exactly that reason — it is the same on all 13 platforms.

Which platforms actually offer 0% commission with GST invoicing?

This is the combination most Indian sellers are searching for, and only three of the 13 platforms here genuinely offer it.

HOD Media — 0% commission, GST built in

0% platform commission on every plan, GST-compliant invoicing (CGST/SGST/IGST) included, and native UPI and COD. You connect your own Razorpay, PayU or Cashfree keys, so settlement goes straight to your account and HOD Media never sits in the money flow.

WooCommerce — 0% commission, but GST costs extra

Genuinely 0% commission and fully self-owned. GST invoicing needs a paid plugin, India payment gateways need their own plugins, and you are responsible for hosting, updates, security and backups. Cheapest on paper, most expensive in hours.

Shopify — 0% only with Shopify Payments, which India cannot use

Shopify waives its transaction fee when you use Shopify Payments — but Shopify Payments is not available in India. Using Razorpay, Cashfree or PayU therefore triggers Shopify's own fee of about 2% on the Basic plan, on top of gateway charges. In practice, 0% commission is not available to Indian Shopify sellers.

The shortlist, platform by platform

HOD Media — ₹299/month (₹208 on annual), HOD-AI included; ₹499/month with 200 AI credits

Four plans: Store ₹299/month or ₹2,499/year (first 3 months free, no card), and Store + AI ₹499/month or ₹4,999/year (the HOD-AI agent and 200 AI credits a month, paid from day one). 0% platform commission, so the bill does not move when sales grow.

Check current pricing →

Dukaan — Free plan; Starter ₹2,500/year (₹208/month)

The lowest paid entry price here — though the ₹209/month figure repeated across comparison sites is the annual plan divided by twelve, not a monthly rate. Growth is ₹8,000/year and Infinity ₹50,000/year. As of September 2026 sources also report a per-order fee of roughly 0.99–4.99% (capped at ₹200 an order), which is why the ₹50,000 cost is more than the subscription. AI: a support bot (“Lina”); we found no agent that acts in the store admin.

Check current pricing →

Wix Ecommerce — Core ≈₹399/month billed yearly (sources vary)

Far cheaper in India than most comparisons claim — Core, the first plan that accepts payments, is about ₹399/month billed yearly as of September 2026 (we saw ₹500 month-to-month in August; sources vary). Wix has an AI site builder and the Astro agent. The catch is fit, not price: limited Indian gateways, COD and couriers, and no native GST invoicing.

Check current pricing →

StoreBase — ₹99/month + 10% of sales

The lowest entry price in this table, but the 10% revenue share means cost scales with success — at ₹50,000/month in sales it reaches the ₹999 cap, roughly 3× HOD Media's flat fee.

Check current pricing →

WooCommerce — Plugin free; hosting ₹300–₹2,000/month

Genuinely 0% commission and fully self-owned, but you are the sysadmin: updates, security, backups and plugin conflicts are yours. Cheapest on paper, most expensive in hours.

Check current pricing →

Shopify Basic — ₹1,994/month (₹1,499 on annual)

The most capable platform here and the largest app ecosystem, with the Sidekick AI agent and an AI store builder. Shopify Payments is unavailable in India, so a third-party gateway triggers Shopify's own 2% cut on Basic (1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced) on top of gateway charges; COD and WhatsApp tools come from paid apps. Promotional ₹20/month for the first 3 months.

Check current pricing →

What's included at ₹299/month

Unlimited products
Custom domain + SSL
Razorpay, PayU & Cashfree
COD + UPI
GST invoicing (CGST/SGST/IGST)
Drag-drop theme editor
0% platform commission

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cheapest ecommerce platform in India?

On headline subscription price, Dukaan (free plan, or ₹2,500/year — ₹208/month) and StoreMaker (₹222/month) are the lowest in India. On what you actually pay once you are selling, HOD Media is ₹299/month flat with 0% platform commission — free for the first 3 months, no credit card. At ₹50,000/month in sales HOD Media stays ₹299, while a platform taking 10% of sales reaches roughly ₹999 and Shopify Basic reaches about ₹1,994 plus a ~2% third-party gateway fee. HOD Media is the cheapest Indian ecommerce platform that combines 0% platform commission, native UPI and COD, and built-in GST invoicing.

Which ecommerce platform in India has 0% transaction fee and GST invoicing?

HOD Media charges 0% platform commission and includes GST-compliant invoicing (CGST/SGST/IGST) on every plan, with native UPI and COD. WooCommerce also takes 0% commission but is self-hosted, so GST invoicing needs a paid plugin and you handle updates, security and backups yourself. Shopify does not charge a platform fee if you use Shopify Payments, but Shopify Payments is unavailable in India, so a third-party gateway triggers Shopify's own fee of about 2% on the Basic plan, and GST invoicing requires a paid app. Note that 0% platform commission is separate from payment-gateway processing (about 2% on UPI and cards), which every platform pays to Razorpay, Cashfree or PayU.

Is a free ecommerce platform a real option in India?

Free tiers exist — Dukaan and Instamojo both have one — but they are generally funded by per-transaction or per-order fees, which overtake a flat monthly fee once sales are steady. A free tier taking 2% of sales costs ₹1,000/month at ₹50,000/month in sales, more than three times HOD Media's ₹299 flat fee. WooCommerce is genuinely free as software, but you pay for hosting (₹300–₹2,000/month), paid plugins for GST and India payments, and your own time as system administrator. Free is usually cheapest below roughly ₹15,000/month in sales, and rarely above it.

How much does it cost to run an online store in India per month?

A realistic all-in monthly budget for a small Indian store in August 2026 is roughly ₹300–₹2,500. That covers the platform subscription (₹99–₹1,994 depending on the platform), a domain (about ₹700–₹1,500 per year, so roughly ₹60–₹125/month), and payment-gateway processing at about 2% of sales, which every platform pays regardless of who you build with. On HOD Media the platform portion is ₹299/month with the domain and SSL included, so at ₹50,000/month in sales the total is about ₹299 plus roughly ₹1,000 in gateway fees.

Is Shopify worth the extra cost in India?

Shopify Basic is ₹1,994/month (₹1,499/month billed annually), verified on Shopify's India pricing page in August 2026, and it is the most capable platform in this comparison with by far the largest app ecosystem. The India-specific catch is that Shopify Payments is not available here, so using Razorpay, Cashfree or PayU triggers Shopify's own transaction fee of about 2% on Basic on top of what the gateway charges, and India essentials like GST invoicing typically need paid apps. Shopify earns its price if you need its ecosystem or plan to sell internationally at scale; if you need UPI, COD and GST invoicing for the Indian market, India-built platforms include those natively for a fraction of the cost.

Are there hidden costs with HOD Media?

No. HOD Media is free for the first 3 months with no credit card, then ₹299/month, a price that stays locked while you are subscribed. (Store + AI, which adds the HOD-AI assistant and 200 AI credits a month, is ₹499/month.) The plan includes unlimited products, custom domain connection, SSL, Razorpay/PayU/Cashfree integration, COD, UPI and GST invoicing. HOD Media takes 0% commission; you pay only your payment gateway's standard processing fee, which is charged by the gateway and not by HOD Media. The annual plan is ₹2,499/year — ₹208 effective per month, saving ₹1,089 versus monthly billing.

Start free for 3 months — then ₹299/month

No credit card. Or ₹2,499/year — save ₹1,089.

View Plans

More comparisons: HOD vs Shopify · Shopify Alternatives India · Best Ecommerce Platforms India